OLSH Theatre Department wins 5 awards at PHSSL!


Julia '26

The OLSH Theatre Department competed in the PHSSL State Drama Festival in Bloomsburg, PA on January 6th and 7th, 2023.

They brought the two shows: We Are the Sea by Laura Lundgren Smith, and The Legend of Sleepy Hollow by Kathryn Schultz Miller. 

From the day OLSH got back from Christmaas break on January third to the fifth of January the Theatre Department worked really hard to rehearse and put on these shows for PHSSL. They worked to perform a new show, We Are the Sea, and rehearsed the show they put on for the fall play, The Legend of Sleepy Hollow.

On Friday January fifth they left OLSH in the morning and traveled to Bloomsburg, PA. That same Friday both shows had an hour to block the shows and set up cues. Both these shows successfully blocked the shows in time and this set them up for their amazing performances the next day. 

We Are the Sea had the first show at 8:00am on Saturday. This performance had a serious tone and was impressively acted by the cast. The fourth show of the day was The Legend of Sleepy Hollow. This show was my personal favorite. It was a humorous show but also had a halloween-type vibe. Not one person in the crowd wasn’t laughing. Both these shows were very well performed and got a great applause.

As a result of these two great performances OLSH won five awards. The Legend of Sleepy Hollow won 3rd place, and We Are the Sea was recognized as a state finalist. For their amazing performances and acting skills, Nick Ewanco ‘26, Leo Matthews ‘25, and Marin Reinhardt ’26 were recognized as members of the All-State cast!

Congratulations to the OLSH Theatre department for their various awards!