Pretty Little Liars #1 Book Review

Carolyn McAndrews

Pretty Little Liars
By: Sara Shepard

Release of TV Show:
June 8, 2010

Goodreads Description:

Three years ago, Alison disappeared after a slumber party, not to be seen since. Her friends at the elite Pennsylvania school mourned her, but they also breathed secret sighs of relief. Each of them guarded a secret that only Alison had known. Now they have other dirty little secrets, secrets that could sink them in their gossip-hungry world. When each of them begins receiving anonymous emails and text messages, panic sets in. Are they being betrayed by someone in their circle? Worse yet: Is Alison back? A strong launch for a suspenseful series.

My Review:

In the beginning we are told to ‘never trust a pretty girl with an ugly secret’, and one thing we quickly find out is that looks can be deceiving. Early on, we are introduced to four main characters: Aria Montgomery, Spencer Hastings, Hanna Marin, and Emily Fields. These four were once best friends brought together by the queen bee of Rosewood Day Miss Alison DiLaurentis, but after the mysterious disappearance of the queen bee the four friends distanced themselves from one another. One interesting thing about the book is that each of the main four get their own chapter, we get to see the life the characters live through their eyes. We follow their journey and meet other characters that will be important throughout the story. One character who is very important has yet to be revealed to us all, this person goes by the letter -A. -A knows things about each of the girls that only one other person knew… Alison DiLaurentis. So now the big question, is Alison alive? This book provides all of the mystery and romance you desire. I highly recommend it… you are in for a treat. There are 304 pages in this book, and it’s available on Amazon for $7.98 (paperback).

Review By: Carolyn McAndrews